Monday, May 09, 2011

The first woman President of Bolivia Lidia Gueiler died

DEATH • Lidia Gueiler Tejada, who was the first and only woman who became president of Bolivia, died today near 8.00, as reported her family to the Broadcasting Station Erbol. Gueiler, was interim president of the country between 1979 and 1980.


Lidia Gueiler Tejada. Photo © THE ACHACACHI POST®

LA PAZ, Bolivia .— Lidia Gueiler was born in Cochabamba on August 28, 1921, she was in delicate health, a situation that she does not permit to participate in a meeting that President Evo Morales who invited to discuss maritime claim to be submitted to international courts.

So far there was not a report about causes that led to her death.

Lidia Gueiler became president of Bolivia in 1979 after the coup d’état that carried General Alberto Natusch Busch that deposed president Walter Guevara Arce.

Gueiler, since 1948 was a member of the Movimiento Nacionalista Revolucionario (MNR), where she was formed politically and highlighted as a leader for women and the youth. In 1951, along with 27 other women in the Palace of Justice in La Paz, declared a hunger strike to demand the release of imprisoned comrades and confined and the annulment of the elections that had won Víctor Paz Estenssoro.

She participated in national Revolution of 1952 where fought for equal rights and opportunities. In 1953 she traveled to Hamburg as secretary of the General Consulate of Bolivia.

Later she went on a diplomatic mission to Bonn as a Civil Attaché, and later as head of the embassy, before being elevated to the rank of ambassador.

He was a deputy in the legislature 1956-1960 and 1960-1964. In 1963 he joined the Left Revolutionary National Party (PRIN), founded by Juan Lechin, from which she was a member until the seventies, when she returned to her home party, the MNR.

She was exiled to Santiago de Chile by the government of General Barrientos Ortuño. With the 1978 elections, in which there was no absolute majority, the Congress elected as constitutional president to Senate President Guevara Arze, and for the presidency of the Chamber of Deputies to Lidia Gueiler Tejada.


0 comentarios:

Post a Comment